Traveling and the Stories it Makes

(Image source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/31947478583587743/)
(Image source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/31947478583587743/)

A friend and I were having breakfast at an airport cafe in Yangon when someone approached and asked if he could join us. All tables were taken so we let him sit with us. We ended up chatting — with the guy telling us about his travels in different parts of Myanmar. He was such a great storyteller and had many riveting photos to show, especially of Bagan. It was a fun conversation that we were truly sorry to leave him to head to our gate for boarding. The guy was on his way to Thailand before he will travel back home to Germany.

Traveling makes good fodder for compelling stories. And this is why I love travel writing. I have always wanted to try my hand at it. Recently, I have written about some of the trips I have had in the past for a travel site (see links). This whole travel writing for me is slow progress and I am still far from good. But doing it made me think that there are some things you cannot unsee or unfeel.

Sensō-ji, Tokyo, Japan

It's crowded when we were there. But I didn't really mind. I could spend hours just roaming around.
It’s crowded when we were there. But I didn’t really mind. I could spend hours just roaming around.

Aizu-Wakamatsu Castle, Fukushima, Japan

There were so many breathtaking sights in the vast castle grounds alone. Fall has turned the foliage into a picturesque play of colors.
There were so many breathtaking sights in the vast castle grounds alone. Fall has turned the foliage into a picturesque play of colors.

Ōuchi-juku, Fukushima, Japan

The cold never bothered me here. So little time, so many places left to see.
The cold never bothered me here. So little time, so many places left to see.

Korean Demilitarized Zone, South Korea

At Imjingak. One of the pit stops of the DMZ tour.
A photo of my friend at Imjingak. One of our pit stops during the DMZ tour.

War Memorial of Korea, Seoul, South Korea

Outside exhibit
Outdoor exhibit
Leave a Reply

