[REPOST] Translation: A Passage in a Japanese Textbook for Middle Schoolers

I was not a figure skating fan before. But stumbling upon a video of Yuzuru Hanyu’s nearly flawless performance in a pre-Sochi Olympics competition instantly made me a huge fan of the young athlete from Japan. The initial admiration for his talent was quickly transformed into deep respect and awe as I learned more about his journey. I always look forward to his performances. Win or lose, I find that he unfailingly leaves a mark — often subtly but powerfully imparting life lessons worth learning.

This article is just one of the many about him that I find truly inspiring. I teared up reading it.

 

Leave a Reply

