Davao Food Haunts – Sampling Some of Lachi’s Best Selections

What should have been our first visit to Lachi’s last December 23 did not pan out as planned. But my food trip buddy and I promised to give it another try, which we finally did the day after Christmas. To make sure that we get a table this time, we scheduled lunch as soon as the store opens at 11:00AM. The plan paid off because we definitely were the first ones there.

Arriving 2-3 minutes before opening to avoid the day-after-Christmas lunch rush.
Arriving 2-3 minutes before opening to avoid the day-after-Christmas lunch rush.
Peace and quiet as well as the opportunity to choose the best spot to dine are just some of the perks of being the first guests in.
Peace and quiet as well as the opportunity to choose the best spot to dine are just some of the perks of being the first guests in.

The first thing we asked the staff who approached us was if the green tea cheesecake’s available. I didn’t have much hope that it would be since it’s not unusual for dessert shops to run out of stocks because of early reservations during the holidays. I was quite happy to hear that they have it so we quickly ordered it first.

Green Tea Cheesecake (Php88)
Green Tea Cheesecake (Php88) photo credit: Deanna Jumawan

For the main dish, we both ordered the restaurant’s bestseller – the Unforgettable Spareribs. It’s good but not as I thought it would be given the various feedback I heard and reviews I’ve read about it. There’s nothing to complain about the taste and flavors, but I found myself looking for something to go with it. I’ve tried dipping small bites of it lightly to a mixture of calamansi and soy sauce (since they provide the former and we already have the latter on the table). But the end-result didn’t quite do it for me. I saw a bottle of sauce on the table as well so I tried putting a little of it but it didn’t seem like the perfect match either. I figured the dish is probably best enjoyed without any add-ons.

Unforgettable Spareribs (Php165) photo credit: Deanna Jumawan
Unforgettable Spareribs (Php165) photo credit: Deanna Jumawan
My hot cafe latte (Php105) to go with dessert. photo credit: Deanna Jumawan
My hot cafe latte (Php105) to go with dessert.
photo credit: Deanna Jumawan
Green tea cheese cake up close and almost gone. Adding this to my growing list of favorite desserts. photo credit: Deanna Jumawan
Green tea cheese cake up close and almost gone. Adding this to my growing list of favorite desserts.
photo credit: Deanna Jumawan

Dining at Lachi’s was a pleasant experience. I now understand why many recommend it, especially to people visiting Davao for the first time. It’s not as accessible as the increasing number of mall-based restaurants in the city. But lately I find that I like eating out in places far from the crowds that malls tend to draw.

Lachis

Leave a Reply

