Revisiting What’s Now a Not-So Tiny Kitchen

My food trip buddy and I, along with her two kids, were supposed to have lunch at Lachi’s yesterday. It would have been the first time for us to eat there. The place is said to be one of Davao’s gastronomical attractions so we were looking forward to the experience.

We arrived at the restaurant at almost 1:00pm hence the place was already jampacked. We were third on the waiting list. But seeing how most of the diners have just started with their meals it seemed like we had a long wait ahead of us. We tried following the lead of the others who were also on the waiting list by pre-ordering our food. We were already picking our desserts when we were told that they only have muffins and chocolate oatmeal bars left. All the other desserts including the green tea cheesecake, which was what I really came for, were unavailable. Whatever stocks of cakes, cheesecakes, and other sweets they have left at the store have been reserved. Lunch without the resto’s popular desserts was not exactly how we imagined our Lachi’s trip would turn out to be be.

Since it looked like it would take quite a while for us to be seated, my friend suggested that we just eat at Tiny Kitchen instead. I brought her there before so she remembered that it was just nearby. So we cancelled our orders and moved to Tiny Kitchen. It was a good thing too since it would be her first time to dine at the restaurant’s new location.

Tiny Kitchen used to be a small family-owned/ran restaurant along Torres St. But there’s nothing “tiny” about it now. They have moved to a bigger place. The new location is just a few blocks away from the old one. They got bigger and better in many ways without losing the old charm. It’s been a while since I’ve been to the new place so I was pleasantly surprised with all the changes I’ve seen. There have also been several new additions to the menu since my last visit.

We were still third on the waiting list when we got there, but the wait wasn’t long. We busied ourselves choosing from along the many scrumptious selections and ordered what we wanted so we wouldn’t have to wait long for our food once we get seated.

When we finally got a table and served our food, I couldn’t help but think that we may not have been able to dine where we originally wanted but we ended up in  place that served as a hearty, much-loved, and delicious late lunch.

Seafood bechamel I'm not much into creamy/buttery pastas but this is one of the few exceptions I'm willing to make. It's my first time to try this dish. It has shrimps, squid, mussels, and chunks of chicken.
Seafood Bechamel
I’m not much into creamy/buttery pastas but this is one of the few exceptions I’m willing to make. It’s my first time to try this dish. It has shrimps, squid, mussels, and chunks of chicken. It’s quite tasty without being overpowering.
Lengua My friend Deanna's choice. The lengua's cooked just right and the sauce goes really with the meat. I loved this dish as well.
Lengua
My friend Deanna’s choice. The lengua’s cooked just right and the sauce goes really with the meat. I loved this dish as well.
Gambas My friend's daughter's choice. A bit spicy but delicious as well.
Gambas
My friend’s daughter’s choice. A bit spicy but delicious as well.
Fritos (fried chicken) My friend's son's choice. Something that a young boy would typically choose. Big serving and looks crunchy though I haven't tried it.
Fritos (fried chicken)
My friend’s son’s choice. Something that a young boy would typically choose. Big serving and looks crunchy though I haven’t tried it.
Square Indulgence My favorite so I usually end up ordering it every time I visit the place.
Square Indulgence
My favorite so I usually end up ordering it every time I visit the place.
Creme Brulee cheesecake My friend's pick. I've added it to my growing list of must-haves at Tiny Kitchen. I'm not really into anything that hasn't any chocolate in it but this one's so good!
Creme Brulee cheesecake
My friend’s pick. I’ve added it to my growing list of must-haves at Tiny Kitchen. I’m not really into anything that hasn’t any chocolate in it but this one’s so good!
Chocolate Mousse The little boy's choice. He finished it off all by himself so I'm guessing it's as good as it looked.
Chocolate Mousse
The little boy’s choice. He finished it off all by himself so I’m guessing it’s as good as it looked.

(Photos by Deanna Jumawan)

TK

Leave a Reply

