Durian Delights at Lola Abon’s

Our cousin from Bohol was just one of the many relatives who arrived from different parts of the Visayas and Mindanao to attend my aunt’s wake and funeral the other day. It has been a long time since I have seen most of my relatives from my father’s side of the family. After my aunt was laid to rest, my sister and I took advantage of the remaining time with our cousin who was scheduled to leave in the evening. She said she wanted to go to Lola Abon’s to buy some durian candies so we went with her.

It was my first time to visit the popular candy store. It is at the other end of the city and quite far from where we live so I usually end up buying durian candies at other pasalubong shops closer to our place. I now understand why the candy store is still one of the go-to places when buying pasalubongs from Davao.

Taken from the pomelo stall beside it.
Taken from the pomelo stall beside it.
My cousin and sister buying pomelos from grandma. Her stall is just beside Lola Abon's building.
My cousin and sister buying pomelos from grandma. Her stall is just beside Lola Abon’s building.
Different kinds of durian treats (candies, yema, pastillas, etc)
Different kinds of durian treats (candies, yema, pastillas, etc)
My first time to try this delicious durian ice cream. Loved it!
My first time to try this delicious durian ice cream. Loved it!
Durian ice cream
Durian ice cream
A nice place to shop for durian candies. I like how the store has a clean restroom and sitting area.
A nice place to shop for durian candies. I like how the store has a clean restroom and sitting area.
Leave a Reply

