The Art of Keeping Still and Quiet

Lately, I seem to be saying less than I want to. And that’s quite unusual for me. Because I tend to speak my mind which often ends up ruffling some feathers. My objectivity and straightforwardness are often misconstrued. I don’t play nice just to be liked which is why I have no qualms bringing up topics some might want to avoid.

One of the hardest things to do is to be heard when you’re not exactly sure if the people around you even understand what you’re trying to say. It’s probably one of the reasons why I noticed that I’ve been holding back quite a lot in the past weeks. It seems to me that my views and visions do not fit in a place where I’m making an effort to grow. It made me think that perhaps being quiet isn’t about not having anything to say. It could be anything and everything. Some may include any of the following:

~You’re being drowned out by so much noise
~You’ve tried but failed to send the message across
~You’ve observed enough to figure out that it’s pointless to say anything more
~You realized that it’s best to let others believe and say what they want
~You’ve decided to focus inward and work on what you can control
~You have nothing to prove

One thought on “The Art of Keeping Still and Quiet

Leave a Reply

