Dealing with Mindanao’s daily rotational power outages

Thinking out loud when the second power outage hit.
Thinking out loud when the second power outage hit.

So the daily, one-hour rotational power outages we’ve been having for months now just escalated to up to four hours. I read a friend’s comment that there’s probably a greater demand for electricity since a lot of kids are now on their summer breaks. And I’m guessing several of them are playing with their gadgets or on their computers while enjoying their free time to the hilt.

Power came back two hours later. A relief because the heat's definitely on.
Power came back two hours later. A relief because the heat’s definitely on.

I’m way past complaining and whining about the sorry state of power supply in these parts. But that doesn’t mean I don’t suffer as much as before. I find myself wishing I’m a kid again. That I have the kind of time and freedom children have when school’s off. If I could, I would spend my days unplugged for as long as I can and doing stuff like:

Play outdoors. I’ll play every backyard or street game I can with family, relatives, friends, and neighbors. I’ll sweat it out and have fun.

Join a sport I like even if I suck at it.

Go for hikes, get lost, and find interesting things along the way.

Learn to ride a bicycle and bike around wherever I want.

Volunteer.

Read a book at the library or in a shaded area in a park.

Learn to cook afternoon merienda from the elders.

Reconnect with nature. Learn as much as a I can about the plants I see.

Join a tree planting activity.

Swim in a lake, river, or at the beach.

And simply be intensely happy being busy doing nothing.

One thought on “Dealing with Mindanao’s daily rotational power outages

Leave a Reply

