A Taste of Sea Green

Since I left Manila, I haven’t done much restaurant exploring as the food lover in me is wont to do. So I was happy that last night’s dinner with high school classmates was somewhere new to me. The friend who recommended the place said she thought it would be nice to enjoy something healthy for a change. The cafe’s known for their healthy specialties. That tidbit of information piqued my curiosity. And last night’s rendezvous introduced me to a place I’ve added to my short list of favorite go-to places. Places with food selections that fascinate and satisfy my palate.

Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop sits beside what seems to me like a busy road somewhere in Dona Vicenta Village, Davao City. I’ve only confirmed the address after I checked out their Facebook page. The friend who sent me a message about the meet-up only told me that it’s along Marfori.

I didn’t take photos of the menu so I can’t recall exactly what each item’s called. But here’s what I do remember about the few we’ve sampled:

Vegetable Chips

(photo credit: Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop FB page)
(photo credit: Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop FB page)

This one’s a winner. Served in a bowl, I’m guessing that the vegetable chips are a mix of sweet potato and other root crops. Crispy and tasty, I promised myself to order this next time I come for a visit.

Tomato, Cheese and Pesto Omelette

(photo credit: Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop's FB page)
(photo credit: Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop’s FB page)

Our friend Janice ordered this. I’m not a fan of tomatoes so I wasn’t keen on trying this one out although I liked the idea of the cheese and pesto in an omelette. Surprisingly, I didn’t get an overpowering taste of tomato. Cooked just right, the cheese and pesto blended perfectly with the taste and texture of the eggs.

Lime(?) Garlic Butter Prawns

(photo credit: Arlene Tapang)
(photo credit: Arlene Tapang)

I’m not sure about the lime thing since I can’t remember the dish’s name. Served with black rice, it comes with a small bowl of prawns cooked in a lot of garlic. I liked the strong taste of garlic but I wished they toned down a bit on the saltiness.

Tablea Cheesecake

(photo credit: Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop' FB page)
(photo credit: Sea Green Cafe and Lifestyle Shop’ FB page)

This was the reason I wanted to finish my meal immediately. I’ve been dying to try it out since I saw it on the menu chalkboard. I think it was the only available dessert that night although I saw on their FB page that they also serve tofu cheesecake. The cheesecake carries the distinctive flavor of tablea. I grew up loving the pronounced taste of tablea. My lola used to make a lot of them from the roasted and ground beans picked from the cacao trees in my grandparents’ backyard. The tablea cheesecake’s strong flavor with a hint of bitter aftertaste may not appeal to everyone, but it was near-perfect to my taste. I just wished that the cheesecake’s base was not too crumbly. I like my cheesecake base moist.

Tablea cheesecake take-out for my sister, which I ended up sharing with her
Tablea cheesecake take-out for my sister, which I ended up sharing with her

Lemongrass and Ginger Iced Tea

I opted to try it even if I’ve been making it a habit to drink water when I eat out. The stronger flavor of ginger overpowered the more subtle taste of lemongrass. I’m undecided if I like it, but I’m willing to give it a second try.

Leave a Reply

