Coffee & Serendipity Photo Journal #3: CBTL ~ The Peak, Gaisano Mall, Davao City

I love coffee but not all coffee shops that offer even the best cups appeal to me. Paying for a good cup of coffee is all about the experience for me. If I’m going to pay extra for coffee that I can prepare on my own, it has to be somewhere I can thoroughly enjoy. And that could be just about anywhere since I don’t usually look for anything more than my usual caffè americano, latte, or mocha fixes.

Davao has its share of good local coffee shops and a growing number of popular international chains. So far I’ve been to the Starbucks branches located at two different malls. I’ve also visited the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf stores at three of the city’s major malls. Most of both international brands’ branches are frequently packed with people. Finding a table, much less one that you like, is often a hardship once the peak hours begin. Like most coffee shops, these places have taken on a meeting-studying-working spaces look and feel.

The best times I’ve had in some of these coffee shops are in the mornings soon after opening time. So far, the Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf at The Peak in Gaisano Mall is easily one of the best in providing the ambiance for a quiet and relaxing experience. While I’ve seen it packed with people at mid-day until evening, it’s usually not crowded during the early hours. The sense of solitude as well as good coffee, music, and food are the foremost reasons I keep coming back.

Here are some photos taken from previous visits.

CBTL, The Peak interiors during a morning visit
One morning at CBTL, The Peak
Caffè latte. I forgot the name of the cake. The barista just recommended it.
Caffè latte. I forgot the name of the cake. The barista just recommended it.
My favorite lemon square. For drinks, I tried the Tropical Smoothie.
My favorite lemon square. For drinks, I tried the Tropical Smoothie.
Caffè latte and a slice of triple chocolate mousse
Caffè latte and a slice of triple chocolate mousse
Iced caffè latte in soymilk and a new favorite - cranberry biscotti
Iced caffè latte in soymilk and a new favorite – cranberry biscotti
Delectable treats
Delectable treats
Outside seating
Outside seating
Because they have a clean, fresh-looking and -smelling restroom with toilet paper and handwash, which is often one of the neglected customer loyalty pull factors. Although I have to say I've never been in it during peak hours so I'm not sure if they're able to keep it as clean as this.
Because they have a clean, fresh-looking and -smelling restroom with toilet paper and handsoap, which is often one of the neglected customer loyalty pull factors. Although I have to say I’ve never been in it during peak hours so I’m not sure if they’re able to keep it as clean as this.

—–

Related posts:
Coffee & Serendipity Photo Journal #2: Ryuma Coffee Shop ~ Davao City
Coffee & Serendipity Photo Journal #1: Can-More ~ Chungju

Leave a Reply

