A rower’s perspective on love of country

Screengrab from Tumblr post (click image to read the article)
Screengrab from Tumblr post (click image to read the article)

The last time I saw Aishya was in the out pontoon as she pushes off on her way to the final lightweight women’s  single scull race. She’s Singapore’s lone entry for rowing at the SEA Games.  As if that’s not pressure enough, there’s the news that came out weeks before the Myanmar games that rowing’s not among the roster of events for the next SEAG which Singapore is hosting in 2015.

I’ve heard of Aishya’s personal training and her staying in Australia for a few months to hone her skills. As I watched her row to the start area I knew she was prepared to give her all to win the gold. She looked different from the last time I saw her in Jakarta. Fiercer and more determined. If I had put a(n illegal) bet on it, I would have won. Because I knew she’d win. And she did. Her first gold at the SEAG after settling for bronze in the past.

Reading her article made me admire her more. Rowers never fail to surprise me with their depth and insights.

Leave a Reply

