A Door To Anywhere

“If you could open a door to anywhere, where would you go?”

I saw that post in my Tumblr dashboard and immediately thought of these three places, among the many, where I’d really love to go:

Shirakawa-go

The Historic Villages of Shirakawa-gō and Gokayama are one of Japan’s UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The site is located in the Shogawa river valley stretching across the border of Gifu and Toyama Prefectures in central Japan” (Source: Wikipedia).

Shirakawa-go has long been a dream destination for me. I first saw a picture of it in a magazine I was thumbing through while looking for materials for my vision board years ago. The place seriously looks surreal to me, and I mean that in the most flattering ways. It reminds me of the stuff I see in digitally enhanced movies except that I know it’s real.

I still can’t decide as to which season to see it best. Probably all. It’s the kind of place that looks breathtakingly beautiful in every season in all the photos I’ve seen. But if I were to choose, I think I’d love to see it in autumn, winter, and spring.

I don’t see Shirakawa-go as perfect. It just has this beauty that gnaws at my heart in a good way. I imagine myself walking in its streets and pathways, sipping hot tea inside one of those farmhouses, and soaking in as much sights and sounds that my stay there would allow me.

Ghibli Museum 

I enjoy visiting museums. I recall happily looking around the Edo-Tokyo Museum when I got the chance to visit Tokyo a few years back. But there was one that I truly regret not being able to visit when I was there – the Ghibli Museum in Mitaka. I can say that I probably felt as bad as some of my new-found friends at that time who weren’t able to squeeze in a Tokyo Disneyland visit in our schedules while we were there.

Like most kids across generations, I grew up with Disney movies. But Ghibli films moved me in ways that the tales of princesses and romances didn’t. I’m amazed and in awe of Hayao Miyasaki’s talents and works as well as those of the people behind Studio Ghibli.

So if I could open a door to anywhere, one of the places I really want to end up is at the Tokyo bus stop with a sign that says “Ghibli museum”, get on the bus, enjoy the ride, and have fun roaming around the museum.

The Hague

To be more specific, I want a door that leads to the third floor flat near the Peace Palace in The Hague. It would be nice to sleep in the bed next to do wide windows, wake up seeing the tree that stands between the building and the clock tower, and worry at times for the birds that somehow end up crashing into the window glass.

Shirakawa-go, Ghibli museum, the flat next to the Peace Palace at The Hague. Three doors for a start wouldn’t be so bad for the gazillion doors-to-anywhere that I want. 🙂

Leave a Reply

