Where the Water Flows

View from the start ~ Guangdong International Rowing Centre
Guangdong International Rowing Centre

Have you ever rowed a boat?
Have you dipped a paddle or an oar in calm, choppy, pristine, or sometimes dirty waters?
Have you marveled at the breathtaking beauty of nature that surrounds you?
Have you been soothed by the myriad of sounds you hear as you sit still or glide across a lake, river, or sea?
Have you watched the sun rise or set as your boat glides on the water?
Have you pushed on amidst headwinds, tailwinds, and crosswinds?
Have you felt the raindrops falling like tiny painless needles on your head?
Have you watched the waves crash with growing fury as a storm brews on?
Have you ever been in a boat alone
or with people whose movements flow seamlessly with yours?
Have you seen a body of water and thought you’d want to row there someday?
Have you ever watched a person row and wondered how it feels to be out there?

I’ve done a lot of things in my life
But I always come back to the water and everything it represents to me

There’s something about the water, shells, oars, rowers, dragon boats, paddlers that draw me
It’s in the places where I see them that I feel that all my senses are engaged
My heart swells with love, pride, awe, and wonder
Where everything familiar is new, and everything new feels like pieces of me coming home.

I think it’s finding these things that fills us
Makes the journey and everything it entails
Very much worth it.

Leave a Reply

