Amazing Davao Photo Journal #3: Kapatagan, Davao del Sur

Kapatagan, Davao del Sur is roughly 2 to 2 1/2 hours away from Davao City. My friend who’s visiting from Manila and I traveled to Digos City and from there, we proceeded to Kapatagan where Camp Sabros, the zipline and outdoor adventure park, is located.

A trip to Kapatagan is something that I’m sure adventure enthusiasts would love. The only public transportation available are the vans at the Old Terminal in Digos city and the habal-habal (sturdy, rough-road motorcycles that can carry up to four people while traveling through uphill and circuitous roads).

The temperature noticeably becomes cooler as you travel farther into the highlands of Kapatagan. The district is known to be one of the country’s major producer of civet coffee. The elevation, view, colder temperature, and pine trees reminded me of Baguio City and Sagada. But other than those, Kapatagan has its unique charms and sense of peaceful isolation. The road feels less traveled than the more popular Baguio, Benguet, and Sagada routes.

I’m not a huge fan of motorcycles, in fact, I try to avoid riding on one as much as I can. But for me, one of the best ways to enjoy the scenic view of the Digos City-Kapatagan road is while on board a habal-habal. Thankfully, the habal-habal drivers I’ve come across shared the same caution and care that helped in reducing or eliminating my fears.

Camp Sabros zipline and adventure park
Camp Sabros zipline and adventure park
My friend Anna Liese getting ready for the 380m zipline ride
My friend Anna Liese getting ready for the 380m zipline ride
Launching off for the 380m ride
Launching off for the 380m ride
The cable ride.
The cable ride.
My friend arriving after the 400m ride
400m
The 820m zipline
The 820m zipline

 

 

Leave a Reply

