Thank you, 2012

Seoulful twilight

It may have been far from a smooth sailing year, but there’s a lot that I’m thankful for 2012.

  • A test of endurance and perseverance – Experiencing a month of 30 days straight, no day-offs, stressful work that averaged 15-16 hour shifts became one of my personal achievements. I realized that there’s (almost) no limit to what the mind and body can do for the love of work. It was an experience that brought out every strength I could muster to the fore. Leadership is a lonely job. I made mistakes, was misunderstood, underutilized, and challenged at all fronts. But I steadfastly stood firm and did what I could to do the job.
  • A time of reflections – It’s a year of learning and relearning lessons. Sometimes the most difficult decisions that need to be made are those between preserving financial security and venturing outside of the comfort zone to pursue a passion. Recurring issues remain unfinished unless the cycle is broken. What’s safe doesn’t necessarily make you happy. And being miserable is a choice.
  • A ‘pruning of friends’ – Friendships aren’t about numbers. People come into our lives for various reasons. But not everyone can be a friend in the truest sense of the word. It’s about layers, degrees, and significance. There are friends from the fringes while others get close to the fox hole you share with the closest. But nothing reveals the quality of friends more than those stormy phases. The ones who truly understand will be left standing beside you amidst the rubble after a storm.
  • A time to appreciate mistakesNeil Gaiman had something wonderful to say about mistakes. And I quote: “I hope that in this year to come, you make mistakes.Because if you are making mistakes, then you are making new things, trying new things, learning, living, pushing yourself, changing yourself, changing your world. You’re doing things you’ve never done before, and more importantly, you’re Doing Something. So that’s my wish for you, and all of us, and my wish for myself. Make New Mistakes. Make glorious, amazing mistakes. Make mistakes nobody’s ever made before. Don’t freeze, don’t stop, don’t worry that it isn’t good enough, or it isn’t perfect, whatever it is: art, or love, or work or family or life. Whatever it is you’re scared of doing, Do it. Make your mistakes, next year and forever.” I made some this 2012. All of which taught me well. Each one as painful as the last. Pride has a way of magnifying even the smallest ones. That’s why I learned to chisel off most of the pride and build on the opportunities that come with every misstep.
  • A slow process towards forgiveness – I’m not a very forgiving person. Admitting that is a crucial step towards learning to embrace it. What they said about the inability to forgive being poison is mostly true. I think that the ones hurting most is the one who withholds it. So to the ones who’ve caused me a lot of difficulties and discomfort this 2012, I may not be completely there yet but I’m gradually looking at a future where I’ve let go of the bad memories. To forgive is indeed divine. I can almost understand how it feels. I think I’m getting there.
  • A traveler’s tales – I may have not done much traveling this year, but I’m truly grateful for the times I did. Thank you for the experiences and memories, Chungju and Seoul in South Korea as well as in Butuan City in Mindanao. I’ve met great people, seen some great sights and sites, opened my eyes further to the wonders of the world. I feel blessed as I often do everytime I leave home to explore new places.
  • A loving family – I believe that family is inherently built on love. Regardless of tumultous times that families have to endure, fall-outs that happen along the way, and whatever issue that test relationships, the bond will always be strong. Unconditional love keeps families together. And there’s probably no other place in the world that a person is embraced most but in the midst of family.

Writing this post made me realize that 2012 was indeed a year filled with blessings. Some good while others had to be unraveled over time. I’m happy that before I welcome 2013, I’ve finally realized that I had so many things to be grateful for.

It was a nice ride, 2012. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart.

Leave a Reply

