Water service, interrupted: What I think about when I think about water

No water. Two words that sound worse than, say, no electricity. I can probably hold out longer if stripped of the  conveniences of electronics. But to spend days with little or no water is discomfiting at best.

It’s been the second day that I haven’t heard nor seen water running from a faucet. And I’m not even camping somewhere in the wild. It’s one of the downsides of living in an area where it’s common to have frequent water service interruptions. I begin to wonder just how damaged the pipes are (or whatever it is that needs fixing) since we constantly endure hours and even days of not getting any.

So these days, as soon as the buckets are filled in the hours water makes its occasional appearances, it’s always back to the silence of the pipes.

Fretting and whining about it is just too stressful. It’s usually during those moments after I’m done doing both that I think about water more. Not that I want to torture myself. Somehow, I just find solace in some images of water I’ve stored in my head. It’s a bit comforting to know that somewhere in the big out there, water flows.

On my little island @ LMD
On my little island ~ La Mesa Dam, QC
Rowers at the finish ~ LMD
Rowers at the finish ~ La Mesa Dam, QC
Traditional Korean music being played after the rowing races ~ Chungju
Music being played after another day of rowing races ~ Lake Tangeum, Chungju
At the pontoon ~ Shanghai Water Sports Center
At the pontoon ~ Shanghai Water Sports Center
View from the start ~ Guangdong International Rowing Centre
View from the start ~ Guangdong International Rowing Centre
Another view from the start ~ Cipule Regatta Course, West Java, INA
Another view from the start ~ Cipule Regatta Course
Dragons at the starts ~ Aioi City, Hyōgo
Dragons at the starts ~ Aioi City, Hyōgo
Leave a Reply

