Fun things happen when you join a birthday serenade at 4 in the morning

Over a week ago, my aunt asked me to Google the lyrics for the mananita song – saying she forgot some of the lines. She then asked my sister and me to visit them the following week so we could join the early morning serenade (mananita) for the pastor who serves the church in their community. By early morning, she meant 4:00AM.

I’ve heard of mananita before from my grandmother. I vaguely remember her going to one when I was little. But it’s been a long time since I knew of anyone who actually still does it. So on a Friday evening, my sister and I traveled to the province to sleep over at my aunt’s place. The surprise serenade was set for the following morning.

That day, I realized that there were several things I missed when I left the province years ago:

  • Waking up at the crack of dawn for morning prayers then doing chores or preparing for school
  • Enjoying nature on a daily basis, which comes with the perks of living in a community surrounded by trees, foliage, and everything that cityscapes rarely have
  • Old customs that foster a sense of community
  • Generally, all the beauty that come with a simple life.

Life is good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

